• 15c8416623be8f.jpg

Information about inland waterways of the Russian Federation

About inland waterways of the Russian Federation

 Total length of waterways of the Russian Federation is around 101.613 km. With the opening of the Volga-Don Canal on 31 May 1952 (101 kms length) the connection of the deep water carrying system with 6 seas has been completed. These 6 seas are:

-          Black Sea;

-          Azov Sea;

-          Caspian Sea;

-          Baltic Sea;

-          White Sea;

-          Arctic Ocean.


The main arteries of this system are the rivers Volga, Kama, Don and Neva, as well as the Volga-Don and Moscow Canals.

A total of 74.500 km are open to navigation by various types of vessels - 16.900 km of which is made by human power. 6.500 km of the system, with a guaranteed water depth of 360 cm, is suitable for vessels with up to 5.000 tons carrying capacity.


126 ports operate on Russian inland waterways. Most of the river ports are equipped with railway access, thus making it possible to transship goods from water to railways and road transport.


The volume of cargo turnover on the inland waterway system amounts to over 200 million tons per year.


The fleet of Russian inland navigation vessels is numerous and consists of a variety of ships. During the winter season, Russian inland waterways are frozen for 3-8 months a year and river-going type vessels are idle at their moorings.


For this reason some of the river vessels have been designed as “sea-river going type” in order to also continue their navigation in sea areas. The use of “river-sea going type” vessels for international trade is attractive for shipping companies since, in addition to their profitability, the vessels can be operated all year round.